Jesse Rigby Award (Chris Simpson)

Top Trio Scoop Pride Silverware – 9/10/2015

Words: Matt Dorman
Images: Chris Simpson

The promise of Western Pride’s 2015 season has been celebrated with three of the Ipswich club’s young stars receiving major men’s awards.Captain Jesse Rigby took home Player of the Year, Lincoln Rule earned the nod from teammates as Players’ Player and Newcastle Jets-bound Bon Scott was named Best and Fairest.Rigby’s acknowledgement follows a season in which he was appointed skipper of the inaugural PlayStation® 4 NPL Queensland All-Stars squad, while Scott’s accolade is another highlight for the 18-year-old goalkeeper.For Rule (picured below), receiving recognition from those closest is reward for hard work.“To be voted player of the season by your teammates is an honour,” the midfielder said.“They’re the ones you put in all the effort for and the ones that are out there on the training ground and on the pitch with you week in week out.“They drive you to be as good as you can be and set the standards for the season high.”An inexperienced Pride began their 2015 campain with promise, winning four of their opening five matches, before falling away in the second half of the season.Rule is confident in his team’s ability to progress beyond that disappointment next term.“With the players we have here already I believe we have enough quality to really push on next season,” he said.“The potential is there and I believe that with this young side and Graham (Harvey) coaching, we should really be making games uncomfortable for our opposition.”Centre-forward Harrison Sawyer (pictured below), who joined Rigby in the All-Stars squad, scooped Pride’s Golden Boot award with 10 goals and made mention of his supporters in attack.“As a striker you’ve got to be creating chances and putting them away,” Sawyer said.“Luckily with the players around me, like Lincoln Rule who converted six or so penalties and a few other boys that were scoring too, it took the pressure off.“I think at times if I was more potent it could have been an even better year for me but to get the club’s Golden Boot is still a big honour personally.”

2015 Award Recipients:Senior Men

Player of the Year – Jesse Rigby

Players’ Player – Lincoln Rule
Best and Fairest – Bon Scott
Golden Boot – Harrison Sawyer
2015 Award Recipients: Youth Men
Best and Fairest – Haris Avdic

Players’ Player – Haris Avdic
2015 Award Recipients: Under 18 Mens
Best and Fairest – Ricardo Maravilla
Players’ Player – Haydar AdamClub Person of the Year – Darryl Christensen – Senior Mens Team Manager


[SlideDeck2 id=2251]


Saturday 17th October – PS4 NPL QLD club Western Pride FC
celebrated their Junior Presentation Night.



U12 Boys – Presented by
Graham Harvey

(Interim TD prior to Gabors Appointment)
Players Player – Jared Blauw
Best & Fairest – Isaac Bracker




U13 Boys – Presented by
Gabor Ganczer WPFC TD

Players Player – Cameron McAndrew
Best & Fairest – Cooper Nichols





U14 Boys – Presented by Liz Ridley
Football Ipswich

Players Player – Nathan Singam
Best and Fairest – Aiden Cathcart





U15 Boys – Presented by Western Pride GM
Pat Boyle

Best &Fairest – Mitchell Husband
Players Player – Aaron Midkiff





U15 Girls – Presented by Pye Augustine
Womens Program DOC.

Players Player – Megan Stephens
Best and Fairest – Laise Warner





U16 Boys – Presented by WPFC
Club Patron – Gary Wilkins

Players Player – Joshua Wilson
Best and Fairest- Jack Sharples